What is FISP?

FISP is the New York City’s “Facade Inspection Safety Program” formerly known as Local Law 11. Simply stating owners of buildings over 6 stories must have their exterior walls and appurtenances inspected once every 5 years under guidelines set forth FISP. Upon performing a FISP (Local Law 11) Inspection a technical report must be filed with the NYC Department of Buildings.
The FISP inspection report is to include the inspection findings of conditions observed and classifications of Safe, Safe with a Repair and Maintenance Program (SWARMP) or Unsafe. These inspections must be conducted and witnessed by or under the direct supervision of a Qualified Exterior Wall Inspector (QEWI). Buildings with any wall greater than six (6) stories on an otherwise exempt buildings must have that individual wall(s) inspected under FISP.

When and why was FISP initially enacted?

The New York City’s “Facade Inspection Safety Program” (FISP) began as Local Law 10 of 1980 which required street facing facades (including 25 feet of adjacent side walls) of all buildings greater that six (6) stories in height to be visually inspected. The original law (Local Law 10 of 1980) was passed and signed into law in 1980 by then Mayor Ed Koch after Grace Gold (a Barnard College student in May, 1979) life was taken when a piece of terracotta fell from the facade of 601 West 115th Street.
Local Law 10 of 1980 was later revised in 1998 after a series of facade related accidents occurred. Local Law 11 of 1998 revised Local Law 10 of 1980 and expanded the requirements of the inspection. Local Law 11 required the inspection of all building facades (not just the street facing facades) and the performance of at least one representative scaffold/ platform inspection along a street elevation.

FISP – Local Law 11 Sub-Cycle Filing Periods / Deadlines:

Inspection Cycles have become known within the industry as the time period for which buildings are required to file their facade inspection reports with the NYC DOB. The current Inspection Cycle (Cycle 8) runs from February 21, 2015 to February 21, 2020.
Within the current - 8th Cycle of Local Law 11 there are three (3) staggered two year sub-cycles (Cycles 8A, 8B and 8C). The report filing period for each sub-cycles is determined by the last digit of the building’s Block Number. The introduction of the sub-cycle system and the staggered filing periods for the sub-cycles was introduced in the 7th Cycle of Local Law 11.
The chart below outlines the three (3) sub-cycles, the corresponding last digit of the building’s block number and the filing periods for each of the three sub-cycles.

Sub-cycle  Last Digit of Block Number Filing Period
8A 4, 5, 6, or 9 02/21/2015  –  02/21/2017
8B 0, 7, or 8 02/21/2016  –  02/21/2018
8C 1, 2, or 3 02/21/2017  –  02/21/2019